220 Triathlon Awards 2017 winners announced

220 Triathlon Awards 2017 winners announced

2016 was a year to remember, from Rio to THAT race in Mexico. We saw the Iron-distance world record broken, the British Iron-distance record slashed, new races launched and revolutionary bikes released… 


But which were best? We asked you to vote for your favourites in 21 categories and you responded in your thousands. So without any further ado here are the winners and runner-ups in the 220 Triathlon Awards 2017. 

Men’s Elite Triathlete of the Year

1. Alistair Brownlee
2. Jonny Brownlee
3. Jan Frodeno
4. Joe Skipper
5. David McNamee
Women’s Elite Triathlete of the Year
1. Flora Duffy
2. Vicky Holland

3. Lucy Gossage

4. Helen Jenkins

5. Non Stanford


International triathlete of the Year
1. Gwen Jorgensen

2. Flora Duffy

3. Jan Frodeno

4. Daniela Ryf

5. Mario Mola


Duathlete of the Year
1. Emma Pooley

2. Emma Pallant

3. Ben Dijkstra

4. Richard Horton

5. Alex Yee


Women’s Paratriathlete of the Year
1. Lauren Steadman

2. Melissa Reid

3. Lizzie Tench

4. Alison Patrick

5. Faye McClelland


Youth Triathlete of the Year 
1. Ben Dijkstra

2. Sam Dickinson

3. Jamie Bedwell

4. Alex Yee

5. Sam Mileham


Male Paratriathlete of the Year
1. Andy Lewis

2. Phil Hogg

3. Joe Townsend

4. George Peasgood

5. Haseeb Ahmad


Men’s Age-Grouper of the Year
1. Reece Barclay

2. Andy Greenleaf

3. Mark Mills

4. Michael Smallwood

5. Phil Wilson


Women’s Age-Grouper of the Year

1. Alice Jenkins                                     

2. Liz Dunlop                                           

3. Jane Hansom                                      

4. Emma Deary                                      

5. Linda Ashmore
Coach of the Year

1. Malcolm Brown                

2. Simon Ward                                       

3. Adam Gibson                                  

4. David Knight                                       

5. Joel Enoch
Triathlon Club of the Year  (sponsored by Skechers) 

1. Leeds & Bradford                              

2. Oxford Tri                                            

3. Wakefield Triathlon Club  

4. Greenlight                                          

5. Bustinskin


Race of the Year (under 500 entries)

1. Storm the Castle                                                                

2. Ilkley Triathlon                                                                  

3. Bustinskin Weymouth Middle Distance Triathlon      

4. Eastbourne Triathlon                                                                         

5. Oxford Tri Sprint Triathlon
Race of the Year (over 500 entries)

1. The Outlaw              

2. Ironman Weymouth                                                                        

3. Hever Castle                                                                                        

4. The Outlaw Half Holkham                                                             

5. JLL Property Triathlon
Bike Brand of the Year 
1. Boardman

2. Cervelo

3. Giant

4. Planet X

5. Trek


Tri-Suit Brand of the Year
1. Huub

2. 2XU

3. Zone3

4. Raceskin

5. Threo


Wetsuit Brand of the Year
1. Huub

2. Zone3

3. Blueseventy

4. Orca

5. Yonda
Run Brand of the Year
1. Asics

2. Adidas

3. Brooks

4. Saucony

5. Skechers


Online Retailer of the Year
1. Wiggle

2. Chain Reaction Cycles

3. Sigma Sport

4. Planet X

5. Total Fitness Nottingham


Tri Retailer of the Year
1. Wiggle
2. Sigma Sport
3. Total Fitness Nottingham
4. Triangle Leeds
5. The Triathlon Shop Bristol


Innovative Product of the Year

1. Cervelo P5X                          
2. Canyon Speedmax              
3. Threo Tri-suit                                    
4. 32Gi Gels                              
5. Altium i10  
Jane Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Contribution to Triathlon*
Winner: Jonathon Riall (Head Coach for the Great Britain Paratriathlon Team)

*Once the initial shortlist was drawn up from the first round of open voting, the top five individuals were put before a panel of judges, which included: 220 editor Helen Webster, 220 deputy editor Liz Barrett, 220 features editor Matt Baird, and 220 columnists Tim Heming and Martyn Brunt.

Judge Tim Heming said of winner Riall: “It would be easy for the achievements of the Paralympic team to be overshadowed after British Triathlon’s most successful Olympic Games ever, but Riall, a mature head on young shoulders, full of verve and enthusiasm (and a pleasure to deal with as a journalist) marshalled a formidable band of paratriathletes to great feats in Rio.

“In many ways this was a step into the unknown. A funded programme that had to serve the needs of a mixture of athletes, from wheelchair competitors to visually impaired triathletes and their guides, all with their own requirements and demands to give them the optimal chance of winning medals at paratri’s inaugural Paralympics. As a fellow Gloucestershire boy, it was also a pleasure to see Riall’s hard work capped with gold for Lydney’s Andy Lewis, whose progression through 2016 was a lesson in peaking to perfection.”

 Other nominees


Alistair Brownlee
Jack Maitland
Colin Pink (Wakefield Tri)
Mark Steen (Bustinskin Events) 


Click Here: liverpool mens jersey